25 Fellows for 25 Years: Kalle Korpi

F-Secure Life

2001_NOTEXT_25th_timeline_web_images-07As we celebrate our 25th anniversary over the next month, we’re paying tribute to the women and men who helped build the success story that is F-Secure. You can experience that story here and help us fight malware in our anniversary arcade game.

Today we speak to Kalle Korpi, the Vice President of our North Europe Operator Channel, who joined F-Secure in 2001.

Where were you 25 years ago?

Back in 1988 I was working for former Digital Equipment Corporation (DEC), which later became part of Compaq, which then became part of HP. DEC was a great company to work for. It was about people and culture with very strong customer focus and the “we can do” attitude, like F-Secure is today.. That time computers were bit different than today, like DEC VAX-11/780 having a CPU cabinet where you can hide inside and which had probably less computing power than iPad has today. BTW, back then IT security was a very different topic than today, threats were very different.

What’s your favorite piece of technology?

I like solutions and services that are simple to understand, user friendly and something that simply works. For me it’s not about having all possible latest bells and whistles.

What F-Secure memory is most irreplaceable to you?

Oh, there are so many. I like fighting for business and against the competition and there are so many big operator cases we have won over big competitors and made successful business with those operators, both for them and for us. I think that’s the best I can think of and that goes for last the 12 years I have been in this business.

How will the world be different in 25 years?

Sorry, I won’t tell you. I want to leave it as a surprise for you…

What’s your 25th birthday wish for F-Secure?

First of all, Happy Birthday F-Secure. Secondly, I hope we as F-Secure will reach the 100M end user target earlier than planned in our new strategy.

25 Fellows for 25 Years

Mikko Hypponen – 1991
Jyrki Airola — 1994
Pekka Usva — 1995
Kim Englund — 1996
Pirkka Palomäki — 1997
Veli-Jussi Kesti — 1998
Taneli Virtanen — 1999


Rate this article

0 votes


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

You might also like